CREST Registered Penetration Tester Training

  • Learn via: Classroom / Virtual Classroom / Online
  • Duration: 3 Days
  • Download PDF
  • We can host this training at your preferred location. Contact us!

The CRT course leads to the CREST Registered Tester (CRT) examination, which is recognised by the NCSC as providing the minimum standard for CHECK Team Member status and is designed to assess a candidate’s ability to carry out basic vulnerability assessment and penetration testing tasks.

The CREST Registered Tester exam is a practical assessment, where the candidate will be expected to find known vulnerabilities across common network, application and database technologies aimed at assessing the candidate’s technical knowledge of penetration testing methodology and skills against reference networks, hosts and applications.

A pass at CPSA level is a pre-requisite for the Registered Tester examination and success at both CPSA and CRT will confer the CREST Registered status to the individual. An individual passing the CPSA but failing the practical element, which is this CRT exam, will still retain the CPSA Practitioner certificate and may apply to re-take the CRT practical exam at a later date, when they feel that they are ready to do so. Individuals who pass the CRT exam can request that their information be provided to the NCSC to be considered for CHECK Team Member Status. CPSA is available as a separate course.

Target Audience

  • Aspiring information security personnel who wish to be part of a PenTest team
  • System administrators who are responding to attacks
  • Incident handlers who wish to expand their knowledge into Penetration Testing and Digital Forensics
  • Government departments who wish to raise and baseline skills across all security teams
  • Law enforcement officers or detectives who want to expand their investigative skills
  • Information security managers who would like to brush up on the latest techniques and processes inorder to understand information security implications
  • Anyone meeting the pre-requisites who is considering a career in Penetration Testing

A pass at CPSA level is a pre-requisite for the Registered Tester examination.

MODULE 1 - Core Technical Skills

  • Network Mapping & Target Identification
  • Interpreting Tool Output
  • OS Fingerprinting
  • Application Fingerprinting and Evaluating Unknown Services
  • File System Permissions

MODULE 2 - Background Information Gathering & Open Source

  • Domain Name Server (DNS)

MODULE 3 - Networking Equipment

  • Management Protocols

MODULE 4 - Microsoft Windows Security Assessment

  • Domain Reconnaissance
  • User Enumeration
  • Active Directory
  • Windows Vulnerabilities
  • Common Windows Applications

MODULE 5 - Unix Security Assessment

  • User Enumeration
  • Unix Vulnerabilities
  • FTP
  • Sendmail / SMTP
  • Network File System (NFS)
  • R* services
  • X11

MODULE 6 - Web Technologies

  • Web Server Operation
  • Web Servers & their Flaws
  • Web Protocols
  • Web Application Serers

MODULE 7 - Web Testing Techniques

  • Web Site Structure Discovery
  • Cross Site Scripting Attacks
  • SQL Injection
  • Parameter Manipulation

MODULE 8 - Databases

  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • Oracle RDBMS
  • Web / App / Database Connectivity
  • RPC services
  • SSH

MODULE 9 - Preparation for CRT exam

  • CRT - Examination Guidance
  • CRT - Practice Exam

Contact us for more detail about our trainings and for all other enquiries!

Related Trainings

Certified Ethical Hacker v10 (Bundle)

A Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) is a skilled professional who understands and knows how to look for...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

5 Day

Certified in The Art of Hacking

Securing customer data is often crucial when deploying and managing web applications and network i...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

5 Day

CREST Registered Intrusion Analyst

The QACRIA course leads to the CREST Registered Intrusion Analyst (CRIA) examination, which suppor...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

3 Day

CREST Practitioner Security Analyst

The CPSA course leads to the CREST Practitioner Security Analyst (CPSA) examination, which is an e...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

5 Day

Web Hacking Black Belt Edition

NotSoSecure is pleased to launch their much awaited advanced Web Hacking course. Much like the Adv...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

3 Day

Advanced Infrastructure Hacking

An Advanced Infrastructure Hacking class, new for 2017, designed for those who wish to push their...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

5 Day

CREST Practitioner Intrusion Analyst

Delegates are provided with a Pearson Vue exam voucher for the CPIA examination as part of the cou...

  • Classroom
  • Virtual Classroom
  • Online

5 Day