TOGAF 9.2: What's New?

A significant event in the world of enterprise architecture (EA) is the recent release of the version 9.2 of the well-known TOGAF. This is the first update of the widely promoted ‘proven enterprise architecture methodology and framework’, as declared on The Open Group website, since the previous version 9.1, released back in 2011.

What are the differences?

1.    By adapting more Agile approach, they facilitated maintenance

Content in the tools / techniques section, such as Business Scenarios, have been removed from the TOGAF standard and separated out into separate guides in the TOGAF Library.

2.    Clearer definitions and additions to terminology were made

With the goal of making the TOGAF framework truly the common language of enterprise architecture, The Open Group have added more concrete definitions to the TOGAF manual. Words that previously were assumed ‘common language’ have now been clearly defined to avoid any confusion.

3.    Business Architecture Model Unit Updates

TOGAF standard, version 9.1 simply described some stages of the Business Architecture Model (ADM) without explaining how to apply them. The TOGAF standard, version 9.2 supports the execution of the ADM, with particular focus on Architecture Vision and Business Architecture phases. 

4.    Changes were made in the core body of TOGAF

Several modifications can be noticed in the core body of TOGAF as well. Firstly, the TOGAF Library is now positioned as an integral part of TOGAF and some former TOGAF chapters, e.g. chapter 21 (Security Artchitecrure  and the ADM) and chapter 22 (Using TOGAF to Define and Govern SOAs), and even the entire previous part VI (TOGAF Reference Models) have been moved from the main body text into the TOGAF Library.

5.    The core TOGAF text has been cleaned up

The TOGAF handbook included examples and referenced models that did not directly contribute to the TOGAF framework itself, making it difficult to navigate and manage. In particular, chapter 4 (Release Notes) has been removed altogether, while some other chapters have been moved to the TOGAF Library, as mentioned above. However, most of the existing chapters remain in place with changes, e.g. reordering of subsections, minor updates, or small editorial improvements. As a result of this cleanup, the overall volume of the TOGAF documentation in the version 9.2 has been reduced to 532 pages from 692 pages in the previous version 9.1.    

6.    This new modular structure allows The Open Group  to make updates to modules more frequently, without editing the core TOGAF manual. 

The following Series Guides have been or will be released:

•    TOGAF® Series Guide: The TOGAF® Leader’s Guide to Establishing and Evolving an EA  Capability
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: A Practitioners’ Approach to Developing Enterprise Architecture  Following the TOGAF® ADM
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: Value Streams
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: Using the TOGAF® Framework to Define and Govern Service-Oriented Architectures
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: Business Scenarios
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: The TOGAF® Technical Reference Model (TRM)
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: The TOGAF® Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model (III-RM): An Architected Approach to Boundaryless Information Flow™
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: Business Capabilities* 
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: Business Models* 
•    TOGAF® Series Guide: Architecture Project Management

7.    It is declared that the new version of TOGAF puts more emphasis on business architecture

Practically, this emphasis is manifested mostly in the addition of ten new EA artifacts to the list of outputs in phase B (Business Architecture) supplemented by shallow one-sentence descriptions of each of these artifacts in part IV (Architecture Content Framework).

8.     Updates to basic architecture concepts that better align with the ISO/IEC/IEEE  standards

9.    Inconsistencies and errors in the ADM Phases has been rectified

10.    Business Architecture, Phase B, has been strengthened to include new definitions, which in turn has meant some changes to the content metamodel. Examples include new definitions of Business Capability, Business Model and Value Stream.

11.    New Guides have been added that covers things like Value Streams, Business Capabilities and Establishing an EA capability

How does the version 9.2 updates affect the TOGAF 9 Certification?

The TOGAF 9 certification was recently updated to reflect the changes made to the TOGAF standard. The major changes revolved around developing the Architecture Development Model and Content Metamodel units in the curricula. Despite structural and curriculum changes, the new exam remains the same format as the exam corresponding to the TOGAF standard, version 9.1:

•    Level 1: TOGAF 9 Foundation 
•    Level 2: TOGAF 9 Certified 

Each level requires you to pass an exam. Or, you could take a combined exam and attain "Certified" status.
Our TOGAF 9.2 tranning  4 (day) offer participants gain an understanding of the necessary knowledge to achieve certification by examination for TOGAF 9 at Level 1 (TOGAF 9 Foundation) and Level 2 (TOGAF 9 Certified).TOGAF 9.2 Foundation and Certified (Level 1 and 2) training course is accredited by The Open Group.


Contact us for more detail about our trainings and for all other enquiries!

Related Trainings

Latest Blogs

By using this website you agree to let us use cookies. For further information about our use of cookies, check out our Cookie Policy.