HPE Integrity NonStop Operating System Architecture Training

  • Learn via: Classroom
  • Duration: 5 Days
  • Price: From $5,200+VAT
We can host this training at your preferred location. Contact us!

This course provides an in-depth understanding of the H-series and J-series operating systems architecture. It includes Itanium2-based processors and modular I/O. Post S-series changes include debugging, run-time architecture, memory, process control, and synchronization. TNS and TNS/E process executions are explained along with the internals that support user services. User services such as Guardian and Open System Services (OSS) file systems and process control are also examined. The five-day course is a combination of lecture and live demonstration using HP servers.

  • Concepts and Facilities for NonStop Systems (U4147S) and
  • HP NonStop Kernel Principles (U4179S) and
  • Working knowledge of C/C or pTAL

Who Should Attend?

  • System programmers
  • Field analysts
  • Application designers

  • Understand Itanium-based systems
  • Know when to use a particular debugger
  • Understand ordinary DLLs and programs using DLLs
  • Describe how virtual addressing is supported by the addressing schemes of both TNS and TNS/E processes
  • Understand the fundamental tools and mechanisms used by the NonStop operating system
  • Describe memory management process functions
  • Understand the Guardian and OSS file systems and their supporting structures
  • Know the elements of the NonStop operating system that constitute the message system
  • Support HP software products

Module 1 - NS-series and NB-series Hardware and Software Overview

  • NonStop Advanced Architecture (NSAA) hardware
  • NonStop Multi-core Architecture (NSMA) hardware
  • Modular I/O
  • CLIM hardware
  • Code generation, address space, code space, and process execution
  • Interprocessor and I/O architecture
  • Message-based operating system
  • Software layers

Module 2 - Debuggers

  • NS-series debuggers
  • Debugger selection
  • eGarth and eInspect
  • Visual Inspect (VI) and Inspect

Module 3 - Process Run-Time Architecture

  • TNS/E processes
  • Building TNS/E programs and libraries
  • TNS processes
  • Legacy TNS processes
  • Interpreted TNS on Itanium
  • TNS accelerated on Itanium
  • TNS transitions
  • TNS calling native procedures
  • TNS application migration and debugging

Module 4 - Addressing

  • Itanium processor address architecture
  • Extended data areas
  • TNS/E process layout
  • TNS process layout

Module 5 - Interrupts and Exceptions

  • Interrupts
  • NSAA interrupts
  • Synchronization and coordination mechanisms
  • Interrupt and auxiliary processes

Module 6 - Operating System Tools and Mechanisms

  • Data structures
  • Time services
  • Process events
  • Classic privileged semaphores

Module 7 - Memory Access and Management

  • Hardware
  • Physical layer
  • Logical segments
  • Logical map
  • Sharing
  • Priv considerations
  • Page faults

Module 8 - The Message System

  • Interprocess communication within the same node
  • ServerNet topology and the message system
  • MQCs
  • Communication across nodes
  • Expand
  • ServerNet clusters
  • QIO

Module 9 - Guardian Process Control

  • Guardian process creation
  • Process states
  • Process synchronization
  • Monitor process operation
  • Processor load and reload

Module 10 - OSS Process Control

  • OSS process creation
  • fork() and exec()
  • Process termination

Module 11 - Guardian File System

  • Functions of the file system
  • Control structures
  • Open request processing
  • Receive depth
  • Nowait depth
  • Sync depth
  • Peek and poke

Module 12 - OSS File System

  • File systems
  • OSS file system and support
  • OSS file organization
  • OSS pathname mapping
  • OSS open

Module 13 - The I/O Subsystem

  • Storage I/O: architecture, operation, completion
  • Configuring storage device
  • Comparing storage and comm I/O
  • QIO
  • Outgoing comm I/O
  • Incoming comm I/O
  • WAN I/O
  • Other devices

Onsite Delivery Equipment Requirements

  • One Integrity NonStop NS-series or NB-series server with NonStop operating system version H06.03 or later
  • One PC compatible workstation per attendee and instructor

Contact us for more detail about our trainings and for all other enquiries!

Upcoming Trainings

Join our public courses in our Istanbul, London and Ankara facilities. Private class trainings will be organized at the location of your preference, according to your schedule.

Classroom / Virtual Classroom
09 September 2024
Istanbul, Ankara, London
5 Days
By using this website you agree to let us use cookies. For further information about our use of cookies, check out our Cookie Policy.